June: Permission to Waste Time

permission4

‘Parents, can you waste time with your children?’

That question from Pope Francis often rattles round my mind.

‘It is one of the most important things that you can do each day’, he says.

It’s June and I need that question.  It’s busy.  Isn’t it busy?

It’s June and sometimes I can’t do it.  My answer is no.  I cannot waste time.  My husband is away and I am trying to wash up my children’s plates before they have finished their dinner.

‘Sharon, can you waste time with your children?’

No?

What a simple, yet profoundly revealing question.

It reminds me that parenthood isn’t about efficiency, it’s not about being one step ahead or feeling like I’m winning.

It’s June and I’m going to give myself permission to waste time with these stick-collectors, these astronauts, these “just one more chapter” little dreamers.  Permission to walk on walls and climb steps and dance in the doorway of the music shop.  Permission to step away from the sink – to be inefficient, but lovingly present.

It’s June, isn’t it busy?  Let’s waste time as a subversive, and healing, act of resistance.  It’s one of the most important things we can do today.

 

2 thoughts on “June: Permission to Waste Time

  1. Yes!! I’m not a parent, but the point applies to us all. I’ve recently blogged about the epidemic of busyness, and I’m really sick and tired of it. Everyone (not just those in certain life stages) seem busy. There is no time for building friendships, relationships, community. Efficiency is a part of it too. We let a task take precedence over people. Of course, there is a lazy wasting of time, but we all need more good wasted time – when wonderful things can happen! Great post.

Leave a Reply

