January

It seems that nobody really likes New Year’s, as in the Eve. Everyone is saying so. They don’t like the party-thing, the expectation or resolutions. They don’t like it because of all the years they tried so hard to like it.

But here’s the thing: you can still like New Year’s, as in January. You can be a January-girl, like me.

January is about putting away, sorting out and mulling over. It’s about opening. It’s about dumping. It’s about reminiscing. It’s about very gentle, slightly vague list-making.

January starts, actually, in December, on Christmas night. It starts with the very first turkey sandwich in white bread. It starts with cold stuffing and opening your first new, shiny book. It starts with feet-up. And it can start with either “Thank Goodness that’s over!” or with “Ah, that was great”.

I love it when things are over. Obviously it’s good when hard things or stressful things are over. The calender change helps a little, when it’s been a tough year. But I like the afterof just about anything… I like to see my favourite people go home after a great night, I like crawling into bed at the end of the good days too, I like to see the photos, to re-tell the stories… I like “remember when, remember when, remember when…”.

I like “Thank Goodness that’s over!” and I like “Ah, that was great”.

Who cares about the Wedding Dinner? It’s all about the fry, the morning after.

And forget New Year’s Eve. You have the whole of January (starting on Decemebr 25th) to do whatever mulling over is helpful and healthy, about the year that has been. And you have the whole of January to warm up, to emerge into the year ahead. Maybe you will make a change or start a habit. Maybe an idea will start to form or hope will start to rise. Maybe you will talk about something that is important to you to some people who are important to you. Maybe you will just say “I think, I would like to do this, maybe”. Explore a little. Pay attention. Pick a word for the year, if you’re a January-freak like me. Mine is “body” … I’m going to be faithfully following the Lamott Anti-Diet and Exercise Program for the creation of happiness, love, pride and connection.

“Maybe some of us will eat a bit less, and walk a bit more, and make sure to wear pants that do not hurt our thighs or our feelings. Drinking more water is the solution to almost all problems.” (LADEP)

3 thoughts on “January

    • …I didn’t mean that I don’t like the people I happened to be with this new year’s, in fact I would go as far as to say that everyone would LOVE new year’s if they had steak and chat with THOSE people…. (too much?) xx

Leave a Reply

