I am a Jesus Feminist

[This is part of Sarah Bessey’s Synchroblog celebrating the release of her book, Jesus Feminist…]

jf

I am a Jesus Feminist because I have a Brethern Heritage in which there was a lot of good, alongside a lot of head covering and skirt wearing and a lot of silent women.

I am a Jesus Feminist because I once found a sarcastic poem in a church magazine with the lines “Unhatted ladies, oh how cute! Look at the one in the red trouser suit!”. 

I am a Jesus Feminist because of my Bible Class teacher, Vanessa – a fiery, inspiring English teacher who didn’t fit the mould and was the first woman I wanted to be when I grew up.

I am a Jesus Feminist because my mum is wise and spiritual and biblical and I can’t think of one single room, or church hall, or gathering of people anywhere who would not benefit from what she has to say.

I am a Jesus Feminist because my parents found freedom, and passed it on.

I am a Jesus Feminist because my parents have a putting-each-other-first marriage, and they credit Jesus for all their loving ways.

I am a Jesus Feminist because I grew up with 3 good men.

I am a Jesus Feminist because I have 2 little daughters.

I am a Jesus Feminist because of Espero.

I am a Jesus Feminist because of activists like my cousin Gemma.

I am a Jesus Feminist because I listen to radio talk shows and when we discuss things like abortion in this country I hear “Jesus”, or I hear “feminist” and both sides leave me cold.

I am a Jesus Feminist who, often, hasn’t wanted to identify as either… because both words make me embarrassed sometimes… because I’ve heard both words attached to some fairly ugly stuff….

I am a Jesus Feminist because of best man’s speeches at Christian weddings.

I am a Jesus Feminist because I believe in sacrifice, and serving and hard work… and I also believe in rest and self-care and doing what’s life-giving for me.

I am a Jesus Feminist because I believe in looking after, and being looked after.

I am a Jesus Feminist because I don’t find fulfilment in the kitchen, but I do, find Jesus there.

I am a Jesus Feminist because of Naomi Long.

I am a Jesus Feminist because of Anne Lamott.

I am a Jesus Feminist because when the words of Mark Driscoll left me screaming no, no, noooo … I found the words of Rachel Held Evans and exhaled yes, yes, YES!

I am a Jesus Feminist because in my early days of motherhood, when I’d had it with Mumsnet forums, and Facebooks Moms, and Mommy Wars… I discovered Sarah Bessey.

5 thoughts on “I am a Jesus Feminist

  1. Just commented on another post of yours that I found via the wordpress tag feature, and decided to check out your blog more. Well, I am a Jesus Feminist too! I won a copy of the book and eagerly awaiting its arrival. And, on my goodness, you say Brethren heritage. Since you mention head coverings, I assume you mean the Plymouth Brethren (as there are various types of “Brethren”). I was raised Plymouth Brethren (the open brethren) and my dad was an itinerant preacher among them, so I got the real full experience (haha). Yes, lots of good, but much limitation for women. Anyway…

    • ha! yes I imagine we have a similar open Brethern background … and I have a wider family of preachers and missionaries. I see you have recently graduated from seminary so that’s been an interesting journey!!! thanks for commenting.

  2. Pingback: Being Known | Wee Frizz

Leave a Reply

